No, a shared user can’t delete any of your Ring video recording content. This is a security feature built-in by Ring that can not be tampered with.
The Ring system simply doesn’t allow it. Besides, shared users can only access what you have permitted them to view on their app through your Ring cameras.
Here’s an overview of the permissions in a handy table:
Ring Shared Users Permissions
Every device must be allocated to a Shared User separately. For example, the Shared User must be asked to share each device if you own a doorbell and two cameras. The invitation issued to the Shared User is valid for seven days.
What are the risks of giving others access to your Ring videos, and how to avoid them?
Shared users can arm and disarm via a keypad or ring app devices (Cameras, Doorbells), but you can configure these per Guest user individually.
They can access “Live View” if enabled by the owner.
Plus, they can view and share the video clips the Ring camera recorded. Even though this is often exactly why you want to share this access, it might not be ideal for some devices.
Say, for example, you want to share a camera of an appearance you’re renting out with your Airbnb property with your friend or cleaning lady. That doesn’t mean you also want to share the Ring camera connected to your private home.
Shared users are allowed to do what?
A Shared User lacks the authority to alter system settings or account information; however, the purpose is that they can observe cameras and view them, and if needed and distribute them (to the owner, police,…)
The Owner has the autonomy to give or revoke access to each individual camera or doorbell.
It is important to note that as an owner of a Ring Alarm system, a Shared User can both arm and disarm it and unlock any lock that the Owner has granted them access to.
- They can receive alerts on their mobile device when someone presses the doorbell or triggers the motion sensors on the cameras.
- Those enrolled in a Ring Protect plan can view their stored videos.
- The ability to turn on and off alerts for their account on a smartphone, tablet, or PC.
- Easily save videos to their smartphones, tablets, laptops, or computers.
- Arm or disarm the Ring Alarm system or use smart locks.
What a Shared User is Not Allowed to Do
It is not allowed for Shared Users to do the following due to security concerns:
- Become a Ring Protect Plan subscriber when another person owns the account.
- Video footage that has been stored or shared can be deleted.
- Account devices can be removed.
- Any device settings can be changed or adjusted.
- Adding other shared users.
How do I remove a shared user?
Here is a recap in case you quickly want to delete a shared user:
- Open the Ring App
- On the Ring app’s Dashboard screen, press the three lines icon.
- Ensure you are in the right Location if you own multiple Ring devices.
- Tap the address indicated at the top of the menu.
- Select the location where the device is located.
- Click Shared Users.
- Click the Shared User that you would like to delete.
- Click Delete
- Click Save once again.
The Ring App is very intuitive setup and configurable, just don’t set it up too hastily, and watch out for your privacy as an owner.